Funders for Open Access Publications

(If your university or funder is missing from the list, please notify us at

Universities and institutes with central funds to cover costs for Open Access publication fees:

Albert- Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg
Bornemouth University
Brunel University
Chalmers University of Technology
Delft University of Technology
Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen
Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürics (ETH Zürich)
Freie Universität Berlin
Georg-August-Universität Göttingen
Handelshøyskolen BI
Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf
International Institute of Social Studies, Erasmus University of Rotterdam
Johannes Gutenberg Universität Mainz
Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen
Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)
Leibniz Universität Hannover
Lund University
Max Planck
Medizinische Hochschule Hannover
Norwegian University of Science and Technology, NTNU
Technische Universität München
Telemark University College
University College London
University of Agder
University of Barcelona
University of Hohenheim
University of Nottingham
University of Oslo
University of Regensburg
University of St Andrews
University of Tromsø
Universität Bamberg
Universität Basel
Universität Bayreuth
Universität Bielefeld
Universität Bremen
Universität Duisburg-Essen
Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg
Universität Hohenheim
Universität Stuttgart
Universität Würzburg
University of Zurich
Utrecht University
Wageningen University and Research Centre

NB! If you have been funded by the Charity Open Access Fund, i.e. by Arthritis Research UK, the Breast Cancer Campaign - Research that Saves Life, Cancer Research UK, Leukeamia and Lymphoma Research - Beating Blood Cancer, the British Heart Foundation, and the Wellcome Trust, you will be able to recover the Publication fee at these UK universities.

Berkely University of California
Colombia University
Concordia University
Cornell University
Dalhousie University
Dartmouth College
Davis University of California
Duke University
Grand Valley State University
Harvard University
Irvine University of California
Merced University of California
Michigan State University - ask the Library
MIT - Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Ontario Genomics Institute
Ryerson University
San Diego University of California
San Francisco University of California
Santa Barbara University of California
Santa Cruz University of California
Simon Fraser University Vancouver
Tufts University
University of Calgary
University of California at Berkeley
University of Connecticut
University of Florida
University of Kansas
University of Manitoba
University of Michigan
University of Oregon
University of Ottawa
University of Tennessee
University of Utah
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Wake Forest University

Griffith University
Queensland University of Technology

Stellenbosch University - contact Renee Reagon at


Funders willing to pay publication fees for Open Access, or allowing researchers to use part of their funds to pay for Open Access publication:

Academy of Finland
Austrian Science Fund (FWF)
Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council (BBSRC) (UK)
British Heart Foundation
Cancer Research UK
Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS)
Consejo Superior de Invesigaciones Científicas (CSIC) (Spain)
Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche (CNR)
Danish National Research Council
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) (UK)
Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (UK)
EU project: Network of Collaboration Between Europe & Latin American-Caribbean countries (NECOBELAC) (covering the publication fees to Latin American and European collaborating researchers [co-authors])
European Commission (FP7) - health, energy, enrionment, information and communication technologies (ICTs), research infrastructures, socio-economic sciences and humanities, and science in society
European Research Council (ERC)
Fonds zur Förderung der wissenschaftlichen Forschung (FWF)
Fonds Wetenschappelijk Onderzoek (FWO)
Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, Germany
Health Research Board (Ireland)
Hungarian Scientific Research Fund (OTKA)
Max Planck Society
Medical Research Council (MRC) (UK)
Mid Sweden University/Faculty of Human Sciences
Natural Environment Research Council (NERC) (UK)
NECOBELAC - Network of Collaboration Between Europe and Latin American-Caribbean Countries
Nederlandse Organisatie voor Wetenschappelijk Onderzoek (NWO)
(including ACTS, ALW, CW, EW, GW, MaGW, ZonMw, N, NGI, STW, WOTRO, FOM, ICTRegie, NIHC)
Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO)
Norwegian Research Council
Országos Tudom ányos Kutat ási Alapprogramok (OTKA)
Reasearch Councils UK (RCUK)
Schweizerischer Nationalfonds (SNF)
Science and Technology Facilities Council (PPARC) (UK)
Science Foundation Ireland
Sweden's Riksbank Tercentenary Foundation (Riksbankens Jubileumsfond)
Swedish Research Council for Health, Working Life and Welfare - Forte
Swedish Foundation for Strategic Research
Swedish Research Council
Swedish Research Council Formas
Telethon Foundation, Italy
The Dunhill Medical Trust
The Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation (Sweden)
Wellcome Trust
Östersjöstiftelsen - The Foundation for Baltic and East European Studies (Sweden)

California Institute for Regenerative Medicine (CIRM)
Canadian Breast Cancer Research Alliance (CBCRA)
Canadian Health Services Research Foundation
Canadian Institutes of Health Research
Fondation des maladies du cœur du Canada (FMC)
Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada (HSF)
Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI)
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research
National Cancer Institute of Canada
National Institutes of Health (NIH)
Rockefeller Foundation

NECOBELAC - Network of Collaboration Between Europe and Latin American-Caribbean Countries

Australian Research Council (from 2012)

BIOTEC (Thailand)

Indian Council of Medical Research

Israel Science Foundation
Telethon (Israel)

National Research Foundation (South Africa)
South African Medical Research Council

Human Frontiers Science Program (HFSP)